When I Realised My Greatest Fear

Two weeks ago, I made a decision to resign. From work I love, a team I adore, and clients I wholeheartedly care for.

In the months leading up to it, my fears berated me –

Be more resilient, fight it, it’s normal to be unhappy with your job. Everyone is unhappy with their job.  What will your parents think? How will you explain this to your next employer? Where will you go next? You need to have a job lined up! You can’t do this. You WILL fail. 

Usually, I would’ve accepted defeat and continued to exist in a perpetual state of unhappiness, but not this time. This time my instincts vehemently retorted –

How long can you go on ignoring me? You’re not happy. You’re not living authentically. You haven’t for a while. You’ve stopped trusting yourself, in your ideas. You’re doing that thing where you do what you think is right, rather than what is right for you. Just try, at least you can say you tried. 

I just knew and with this knowing I had to make the decision that was right for me.

I will be finishing up this Friday, after which I’ll be taking my first sabbatical.

For, I’ve realised that my greatest fear is to never have tried at all.

 

45 thoughts on “When I Realised My Greatest Fear

  1. It takes a lot of courage to make such decision. I,too felt the same way before. I quit my job at the end of last year. And now I’m still jobless. I didn’t have a plan..yet But I’m much happier and was able to do what I have been wanting to do since I have ample of time. I don’t intend to stay unemployed for long though. For now, it’s carpe diem. I wish you all the best for your future endeavours! =)

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Very brave choice. I congratulate you. There is something in store that you will be very happy about. It is wise to listen to one’s heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks hun and you are so incredibly brave too. Yes wow! I did read your blog post. It was at a time where I was still working up the courage to hand my resignation letter in. I remember being so inspired by your post, thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I’m glad!! It’s such a whirlwind of emotions , I’m still working through it!! But it helped me and will in long run too, I’m sure the same for you too!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cultural conditioning can easily run your life and the more you are invested into it the harder it is to go against it. I had to quit my friends and way of thinking before I was able to quit my job. There’s not a lot of support for quitting your job unless people hear you are moving on to something else just as practical. As long as you don’t have to worry about going hungry or living on the streets then you’ll be fine. Feelings of doubt may come around but don’t let them overshadow the rational mind. I wish you well in your new phase in life.

    You can read about my quitting post if you like(I don’t usually send links to my posts).

    https://nosajnawk.wordpress.com/2015/09/28/quitting-your-job-at-35/

    Like

    1. Great post! I too looked for permission from the internet to resign. My first day early this week was full of anxiety. It’s slowly receding. Thank you for the support and encouragement. I appreciate it.

      Like

  4. Fear can drive you or you it. It can prevent or move you to find your place in life and fulfill your dreams. You may fall flat on your face or you may not, but that’s all part of it. It’s better than finding yourself at deaths door wishing you had instead of being able to say, “At least I tried”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow good on you Liz! Yes absolutely, I feel truly blessed. I’ve had tremendous support not just from loved ones, but also my clients and team at my workplace! Although I was sure of my decision, the support is a beautiful bonus. How’s your time off going?

      Like

    1. Thank you! Absolutely, it’s not easy believing in your dreams let alone eventually chasing them. I’m grateful for all the support I’ve had from family, friends and the online blogging community. It’s been a blessing!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s certainly a process. I can’t see my negative script leaving me anytime soon, so I’m trying very hard to learn to live with its company. If we are aware of the negative script, I think that’s a great strength in itself. So power to you Moshe!

      Like

    1. I absolutely agree with you! Thank you so much. I’ve been tackling so many of my fears lately. I’m constantly terrified but the reward has arrived in reaching the other side of fear!

      Like

  5. I love this post! I resigned my job and have been working for a non profit for over a year now. Personal wealth doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with money. Keep doing you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

