Dear, Life I Did Not Live

I can’t tell you exactly when I started to stray. Maybe it was when I chose an academic career rather than a creative one. I thought it was more realistic, would bring me more success, financial reward. I thought, I had no choice.

While I carried on living this life, the other moved at parallel to me. Its presence taunted me of all I had forsaken – hopes, aspirations, dreams, happiness – though over time, its presence slowly began to fade into oblivion.

I would write letters to it, as if a long lost lover. I wrote how I longed to see it, how I wished for it be with me. I would plead with it to visit once in a while, even if just in my dreams. I would write how the life I was living felt empty, so meaningless without it. I would sign off, seal it and send it off hoping with my all, that one day we would be reunited.

As I posted the letters out to oblivion, I wondered – how many others were out there? Love letters to other lives not lived.

14 thoughts on “Dear, Life I Did Not Live

  1. Great writing! You just put into words what’s inside my mind. I agree with BRETAGNEBK, being true to ourselves is the best thing that we can do. To add, if we do the things that make us happy we are, in any way, touching lives and giving service to others. And this is exactly what you did in this post. Keep writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re incredibly generous, thank you so much JengQuills. Knowing that my words, my truths, are reaching others, is an incredibly remarkable feeling. One I was not expecting. I’m so grateful for the support, thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree. That’s why I got my degree in a field I love instead of doing the “practical thing.” And while I don’t have a job in my field just yet, I’m nowhere close to giving up. Because I know in the end, it’ll be worth it because I’ll be happier in the long run.

    Like

Leave a Reply

